Best City To Live in Cambodia?

Discussion in 'Travel' started by Skins, May 2, 2017.

1. Skins

Skins Head Nigga in Charge Staff Member

dangnomad likes this.
  2. the lockmaster

the lockmaster Well-Known Member

I just got back from Cambodia. 3rd time that I've been there. 4th if you count the one time I did a border run. But that time I directly turned around and went back to Vietnam.

Personally, I don't think that I could live there. The primary factors for me would be the heat, the poverty and lack of infrastructure. Also, because I am an English teacher. The wages would be too low for me to want to live there vs Vietnam. If I were a digital nomad. Then things could be a little different. I think I could stay in Cambodia longer because working online would give you the freedom to travel around.

Cambodia certainly has some fun things going for it. There are some hot women there. It is cheap. It has some interesting attractions to visit. Things seem to be generally laid back there.

If I had to live in Cambodia long term. From a digital nomad perspective. I would base myself in Phnom Penh, but then spend weeks or several months at a time in the other cities listed. Probably in the south of the country more. I like to be around beaches and tropical islands. So, I could definitely stay in Snooky for awhile and take frequent mini trips to the neighboring islands.

As an English teacher. I would have to live in PP. Simply because that is where the majority of the jobs would be and it's common for teachers to work in multiple schools in order to get enough hours.

Maybe when the weather is good, I would live in Snooky. Then live in PP when the rainy season starts and the beach towns slow down.

dangnomad, wanderluster and Skins like this.
  3. the lockmaster

You mentioned Cambodia having a 1 year, multi-entry visa for $280. That is a good deal.

BUT